26. French Quarter during Mardi Gras, New Orleans, LA

1 10 2012

Image

OK, I didn’t go during Mardi Gras, but I’m crossing it off the list. Actually I went in the middle of a Gay Pride rally. Not intentionally. Now me, I’m a man of the people: I do not care about gayness even a little bit. I don’t feel like I need to put a rainbow on my car or have a bunch of gay friends or anything, it’s just a non-issue for me. It’s just like any of the other stuff that’s freaked people out over the years (race, gender) and eventually we’ll look back at it and wonder why anyone cared in the first place. Well, I encountered some gayness in New Orleans that filled me with horror. It was a creep convention for sure. I assume that there were some normal gay types there, but if there were, they were wearing spankies and masks with zippers over the mouth. Ah! I won’t go into it too much – because it’s weird and I feel grimy just remembering it. So New Orleans is a trip. The French Quarter is a trip. It’s one of those places that you can’t help thinking that someone might go for the weekend and somehow wind up broke, homeless, with a heroin addiction. At the same time, New Orleans is an amazing and historic city, with it’s own vibe centered on one thing above all others: fun. Go there. Take a swamp tour, have a Pimm’s Cup at the Napoleon House, check out Bar Tonique for one of the best cocktails you’ll ever have, hit breakfast at Ruby Slipper Cafe, maybe some absinthe at the Old Absinthe House, and enjoy a beer on the street. That’s all.

Image

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

